Dr. A. Harry Basman served as President of MAO (then called Manitoba Optometric Society) in 1973 and again in 1978-79. He became the first Executive Director of the Association from 1980 to 1991 and was named Optometrist of the Year in 1991. In 1992, the A. H. Basman, OD Scholarship was established and named in his honour. Click here to read more about Dr. Basman.

The scholarships, in the amount of $1,500 Canadian for each optometric program year, are awarded to Manitoba residents attending optometric programs accredited or preaccredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). The selection of scholarship recipients is based on academic performance as well as extra-curricular, community, and volunteer participation. A minimum grade point average of 3.5 or 75% is required.

Applications must be submitted with current academic transcripts to the MAO office. The application deadline is indicated on the Application Form and is usually at the start of September each year. The decision on scholarships is usually made within approximately a month of the application deadline. If you are interested in applying for the Scholarship, the current Application Form will be posted below when it is available.

Applications for the 2022-23 A.H. Basman, OD Scholarships will be available here in late spring 2022.






ACOE accredited schools